Why not?

Over the past year I’ve been trying to expose myself to new things.  I felt like my own interests and hobbies were starting to dry out, if that makes sense.  I craved change and a new fresh view on the way that I saw my life.  Being a geek, I have a natural tendency to obsess over anything that I enjoy.  Whether that be reading the news everyday, or a new video game.  I really get connected to the things I enjoy on a deep, almost emotional level, and I’m a firm believer that the things we enjoy doing in our spare time are really the best representations of what we represent, what we enjoy, and ultimately, who we are.

I started small.  Listening to a new radio station was the equivalent of dipping my toes into the ocean of the unknown.  Things got more interesting when I started reading books that I would normally just glance over.  I even tried a romance novel.  I didn’t finish it, but hey, I gave it a try. I introduced myself to different cultural ways of doing things and tried implementing those things into my culture.  There was an immediate sense of excitement.

The way I looked at the world started to change.  I think we get so engrossed in the things we enjoy that we don’t see the need to try new things.  Why should I try that hamburger when I could just eat the one that I already know is going to taste nice?  That question stopped shoving its way into my thoughts.  Instead of “Why?” I started saying “Why not?” and I gotta tell you.  Life feels fresh again.  Everyday is a different experience.  Everyday is something I didn’t know about the previous night. I’m always learning and, as a result, always growing.

Even this blog is something that I was sure I wouldn’t enjoy, until I tried it.  And I know that change is scary, but you know what?  It should be.  Once you stop giving yourself the limits of what you can and can’t do or enjoy, life really becomes limitless.

I’ll even try something different right now, and end this post with a quote.

“What the caterpillar calls the end of the world, the master calls a butterfly.” – Richard Bach

Leave a Reply

